Scroll read

Shyam Saran Negi: The First Voter Of Independent India

Shyam Saran Negi who lives in Kinnaur district of Himachal Pradesh, 102-year-old Shyam Saran Negi is the first voter of independent India.

In 1952’s general elections (India’s first election since the end of British Raj in 1947 ) voting in Himachal Pradesh constituency was conducted 5 months ahead of time in the month of September. (Voting took place in other constituencies in the month of February ’52).

That time he was the first voter who came out to vote. Thus, technically he becomes the first voter of India. He voted on 25 October 1951.

Shyam Saran Negi

Negi has also been appointed as the brand ambassador of Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) campaign by the Election Commission.

In 2010, then Chief Election Commissioner Navin Chawla visited Shyam Saran Negi’s village to honour him as part of the Election Commission’s diamond jubilee celebrations.

Mr Negi casting his vote in 2007, 2012 and 2017 Assembly and the 2009 and 2014 parliamentary elections.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button